Since 2007, community members and organizations, known as the Nation’s Oldest Port National Heritage Area Alliance, have met to share how the rich maritime landscape, converging waterways and the Atlantic Ocean have uniquely shaped the culture and traditions of Northeast Florida’s Nassau, Duval, St. Johns and Flagler counties. Visit the online map for Nation’s Oldest Porttm boundaries, themes and experiences, and learn more about the significance of the region.

Our goal is to celebrate the unique heritage and natural resources of the region and to recognize this area as a special place in America. The Heritage Area Alliance is dedicated to “connecting residents and visitors with the historic, cultural, natural, recreational and scenic assets of the region through education, preservation and promotion of the area’s distinctive stories, resources and traditions.”

To achieve this goal, the St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum and the Heritage Area Alliance worked together to prepare a feasibility study for a Nation’s Oldest Port National Heritage Area (NOPNHA) designation, the first step in the process to make the NOPNHA a reality. Learn more about National Heritage Areas and how they provide benefit to their communities.

On October 7, 2019, Northeast Florida Congressmen John Rutherford, Michael Waltz, and Al Lawson announced their introduction of H.R. 4542, the Nation’s Oldest Port National Heritage Area Act to designate portions of Nassau, Duval, St. Johns, and Flagler Counties as a National Heritage Area. Follow the progress of H.R. 4542 here.

For more information and to get involved in the early planning of the NOPNHA, please contact Brenda Swann at 904-829-0745 or via email


NEW! NOPNHA Quaterly Newsletter 1, Volume 1, Issue 1 (March 2020)